skip navigation

Five Student-Athletes Named to ODAC/StellarOne Winter Sportsmanship Team

Five Student-Athletes Named to ODAC/StellarOne Winter Sportsmanship Team

FOREST, Va. – Five Bridgewater College student-athletes were among the 47 student-athletes honored by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) as the league announced its Winter Sportsmanship teams, sponsored by StellarOne Bank.

Senior men’s basketball player Cody Griffith was joined by senior women’s basketball player Jessie Owens, senior men’s indoor track and field athlete Julius Delbridge, senior women’s indoor track and field athlete Katie Cummings and senior swimmer Simone Conyers.

“I am pleased that the conference recognizes student-athletes for their focus on fair play and sportsmanship," explained ODAC Commissioner Brad Bankston.  "The conference prides itself on positive sportsmanship and encouraging student-athletes to lead by example. Each one of the honorees has been selected by the coaches in recognition of their conduct in the arena.  My hat is off to these student-athletes - thanking them for the example they set for all of us.”

Griffith battled through multiple injuries which held him out of play during much of his senior campaign. The Pembroke, Va. native averaged 12 points per game in his 15 games of play. Griffith dropped 21 points on Senior Night against Roanoke and posted a season-high 25 points at Guilford before missing action due to injury.

After seeing a limited role during her first three seasons in the Crimson and Gold, Owens saw significant time as a senior and took full advantage of the opportunity. Owens saw action in all 26 games for the Eagles, with 14 starts. A native of Elkton, Va., Owens dished out 48 assists and recorded 32 steals during a stellar senior season.

Delbridge had a strong senior season in the sprints for the Eagles men’s indoor track and field team. The Virginia Beach, Va. native picked up a pair of top 10 finishes at the ODAC Indoor Championships and also helped pace the Bridgewater 4x400 meter team to a fifth-place showing. Delbridge finished 10th in the 200 meter dash with a time of 23.70 and also notched a 10th place finish in the 400 meter dash with a finishing time of 53.27 seconds.

Cummings took second place in the shot put with a toss of 39 feet, 3 inches at the Indoor Track and Field Championships. Cummings, a native of Fort Defiance, Va., also won the shot put at the Ursinus Invitational, claiming the victory with a winning throw of 37 feet, 7 inches.

Finally, Conyers also picked up individual hardware during the winter, earning the Bonnie Kestner Sportsmanship Award for swimming. Conyers picked up key points for the Eagles during the 2012 Swimming Championships in Greensboro, N.C. A native of Richmond, Va., Conyers placed in a number of individual events at the championship and helped lead the 200 yard freestyle relay team to a fourth-place finish.

The ODAC has a rich tradition in promoting fair play and good sportsmanship in each sport across the league.  The character of the conference’s student-athletes on and off the field is a representation of not only the individuals and teams, but also the institutions they play for.

“All of us at StellarOne Bank are excited to be an official corporate sponsor, touching the lives of so many in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference," said Angela Ross, Chief Branding Officer for StellarOne.

Below is a summary of the student-athletes representing the ODAC/StellarOne Sportsmanship Teams in men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s indoor track, women’s indoor track, and women’s swimming.



Men’s Basketball
Cody Griffith, Bridgewater
Trey Barrett, Eastern Mennonite
Mike Owens, Emory & Henry
Brad Monroe, Guilford
Ben Jessee, Hampden-Sydney
Robby Kaiser, Lynchburg
Malcolm Nelson, Randolph
Jamie Robinson, Randolph-Macon
Ethan Humphries, Roanoke
Rakeem Davis, Virginia Wesleyan
Will Smith, Washington and Lee

Women’s Basketball
Jessie Owens, Bridgewater
Marla Young, Eastern Mennonite
Ashlyn Baird, Emory & Henry
Jaclyn Nucci, Guilford
Racheal Crowder, Hollins
Caitlin Falls, Lynchburg
Lauren French, Randolph
Lindsey Sharman, Randolph-Macon
Rachel Dellehunt, Roanoke
Beth Ann Boyce, Virginia Wesleyan
Kari Ann Pfannenstein, Washington and Lee

Men’s Indoor Track
Julius Delbridge, Bridgewater
Deverin Pate, Eastern Mennonite
Zavier Watson, Guilford
Rachad Davis, Lynchburg
Dan Zimmerman, Roanoke
David Johnson, Shenandoah
Richmond Letterio, Virginia Wesleyan
Parker Howard, Washington and Lee

Women’s Indoor Track
Katie Cummings, Bridgewater
Naomi Good, Eastern Mennonite
Colleen Gonzalez, Guilford
Christina Washington, Lynchburg
Meagan Tolley, Roanoke
Emily Hesse, Shenandoah
Chelsea Lewis, Virginia Wesleyan
Molly Ortiz, Washington and Lee

Women’s Swimming
Simone Conyers, Bridgewater
Rachel Kroggel, Emory & Henry
Emma Phillips, Greensboro
Kelcey Johnson, Guilford
Kara Berman, Hollins
Jessi Duffy, Notre Dame of Maryland
Ellie Shea, Randolph-Macon
Katlyn Fleming, Sweet Briar
Caroline Hamp, Washington and Lee