skip navigation

Seven Players Selected to Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

Seven Players Selected to Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

FOREST, Va. – For the first time in school history, the entire starting lineup for the Bridgewater Eagles men's tennis team was named to the all-conference team, announced on Wednesday afternoon by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) office.

Bridgewater earned five selections to the second team and picked up four third-team nods to have the entire traditional starting lineup named to the All-ODAC list.

In singles action, the Eagles took home second-team honors at numbers four, five and six singles and also picked up second-team selections at number one and three doubles.

On the third team, the Eagles picked up selections at number one, two and three singles and also earned a spot at number two doubles.

At number four singles, freshman Evan Stack picked up the first all-conference selection of his young career after turning in a stellar rookie season. In dual-match affairs, Stack with 13-2 overall and notched a 7-1 record in conference play during the spring. Stack went 6-0 at number three during the season and notched a 6-2 overall record at number four.

Freshman Christian Lynn earned a spot on the All-ODAC second team after turning in a solid freshman campaign. Lynn earned second-team honors after posting a 9-7 record in dual-match action and a 7-1 overall mark in ODAC play. The freshman went 2-1 at number four and notched a 7-6 record at number five.

At number six singles, sophomore transfer Sam Churchill parlayed a 9-7 spring into a second-team All-ODAC selection. Churchill went 7-1 in ODAC play and posted a .500 record at number six after turning in a 6-6 season on the courts. At number four, Churchill won his only match, while going 2-1 in limited action at number five.

Stack and freshman teammate Brandon Larsen turned in a solid season to earn second-team honors in top flight doubles action. The freshman duo went 9-7 in dual-match affairs and posted a 5-2 mark in conference play.

The tandem of Mike Cable and Brent Floyd earned a second-team selection at number three doubles. Cable and Floyd teamed up to post a team-high 14 wins in doubles play during the spring season. The duo notched a dozen wins at number three and posted an 8-1 record against ODAC competition. For Floyd, the 14-win season for the team pushed him to the top of the program's career doubles wins list. Floyd ended his Bridgewater career with 50 doubles victories.

On the third team, the Eagles swept the awards at number one, two and three singles.

Junior Peter Hawkins earned the second All-ODAC honor of his career after picking up a third-team selection at number one singles. Hawkins went 9-7 during the spring campaign and posted a 6-3 record in conference play. Last season, Hawkins earned a second-team selection for the Eagles at number one.

At number two singles, Larsen turned an outstanding spring season into a third-team nod. Larsen went 9-5 at number two singles and posted a 6-2 conference record en route to earning the first all-conference honor of his young career.

Floyd rounded out the Eagles singles players on the all-conference list with a third-team selection at number three. The senior set a new school record during a 14-5 dual-match season. Floyd is the program's career wins leader with 60 singles victories. The honor is the first of Floyd's stellar four-year career.

Finally, Hawkins and Lynn teamed up at number two doubles to earn a third-team selection to the all-conference list. The duo went 10-9 in spring action and posted a 7-2 conference mark along the way.

Randolph-Macon junior Mederick Ceril and Washington and Lee junior Hayden White shared ODAC Player of the Year honors. Ceril was also tabbed the ODAC Rookie of the Year, while White was chosen the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete. Randolph-Macon head coach Wayne Vaughn was named the ODAC Coach of the Year, and his Yellow Jackets were recognized with the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Bridgewater wrapped up the season with a 13-6 record and advanced to the ODAC finals.

ODAC Co- Player of the Year:
Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
ODAC Co- Player of the Year: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Wayne Vaughn, Randolph-Macon
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
Team Sportsmanship Award: Randolph-Macon College

All-ODAC First Team
#1 Singles:
Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
#1 Singles: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
#2 Singles: Taylor Shamshiri, Fr., Washington and Lee
#2 Singles: Turner Votipka, Fr., Guilford
#3 Singles: Jeremy Becht, Sr., Washington and Lee
#4 Singles: Michael Freeman, Sr., Washington and Lee
#5 Singles: Christopher Hu, Fr., Washington and Lee
#6 Singles: Ben Fass, Sr., Washington and Lee

#1 Doubles: Adam Henderson (Jr.)/Matt Nelson (Jr.), Emory & Henry
#2 Doubles: Taylor Shamshiri (Fr.)/Hayden White (Jr.), Washington and Lee
#3 Doubles: Jeremy Becht (Sr.)/Christopher Hu (Fr.), Washington and Lee

All-ODAC Second Team
#1 Singles:
Tyler Mercier, So., Guilford
#2 Singles: Chip Wintringham, Sr., Emory & Henry
#3 Singles: Clayton Hamilton, Sr., Guilford
#4 Singles: Evan Stack, Fr., Bridgewater
#5 Singles: Christian Lynn, Fr., Bridgewater
#6 Singles: Sam Churchill, So., Bridgewater

#1 Doubles: Evan Stack (Fr.)/Brandon Larsen (Fr.), Bridgewater
#2 Doubles: Chip Wintringham (Sr.)/Mike Young (Sr.), Emory & Henry
#3 Doubles: Mike Cable (Fr.)/Brent Floyd (Sr.), Bridgewater

All-ODAC Third Team
#1 Singles:
Peter Hawkins, Jr., Bridgewater
#2 Singles: Brandon Larsen, Fr., Bridgewater
#3 Singles: Brent Floyd, Sr., Bridgewater
#4 Singles: Ryan Davis, Sr., Hampden-Sydney
#5 Singles: Frank Donnelly, Sr., Randolph-Macon
#6 Singles: Joe Cox, Jr., Randolph-Macon

#1 Doubles: Kevin Calhoun (Sr.)/Ian Sammler (Sr.), Hampden-Sydney"
#2 Doubles: Peter Hawkins (Jr.)/Christian Lynn (Fr.), Bridgewater
#3 Doubles: Franklin Bowers (Jr.)/Ryan Davis (Sr.), Hampden-Sydney