skip navigation

Heretick Named to All-State Second Team

Heretick Named to All-State Second Team

LYNCHBURG, Va. – Sarah Heretick, a senior catcher on the Bridgewater Eagles softball team and May 2012 graduate, earned Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) College Division All-State softball second team honors following voting conducted among the state's sports information professionals.

For Heretick, the honor adds to a list of accomplishments from the 2012 season which includes an Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) first team selection and a nod on the ODAC All-Tournament team.

Heretick set new single-season personal highs in nearly every offensive category after a solid regular season for the Eagles. The Chester, Va. native owned a team-leading .481 on-base percentage during conference play, drawing a team-best 12 walks along the way. Heretick blasted two home runs and drove in seven runs in ODAC action as well.

On the year, the senior hit at a .307 clip from the middle of the Bridgewater lineup.

The all-state honor is the first of her career.

Coming off their fourth-place finish in the NCAA Tournament, Roanoke College earned two of the three major 2012 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) College Division Softball awards announced Tuesday afternoon.

Mike Mitchell earned Coach of the Year honors while newcomer Kelly Higbie picked up VaSID Rookie of the Year accolades. Virginia Wesleyan sophomore outfielder Tori Higginbotham was tabbed as the VaSID Player of the Year for the College division.

Mitchell guided his team to a 35-11 record in 2012, earning him Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Co-Coach of the Year accolades. Roanoke cruised through the ODAC and NCAA Tournaments, as the unranked Maroons finished fourth overall at the Division III Championships in Salem, VA. The success of Roanoke had a lot to do with freshman hurler Kelly Higbie.

Higbie was named as an All-ODAC first teamer and ODAC Co-Rookie of the Year in helping the Maroons to the ODAC crown. She was also named a NFCA All-Atlantic Region second teamer along with being tagged as the ODAC and NCAA Regional Most Outstanding Player. She finished the season with 1.39 ERA, posting a 30-10 record with 36 complete games and 261.1 innings pitched.

Higginbotham helped lead the Marlins the No. 1 seed in the ODAC Tournament. She batted .465 on the year, leading the conference in batting, hits, runs scored, total bases, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. Higginbotham was named a 2012 NFCA second-team All-American, while garnering ODAC Player of the Year and Atlantic Region first-team laurels.

Christopher Newport University had the most players on the two teams combined, as the Captains placed five players on the two teams, including three first teamers. Virginia Wesleyan, Roanoke, Randolph College and Ferrum College each had multiple honorees.

Six players were repeat honorees on the All-State squads, as Chelsea Mitchell (2010), Kaitlyn Culler (2010), Leona Rainey (2010-2011), Lauren Stevenson (2011), Jennifer Falin (2011) and Whitney Haller (2011) all found a spot on the teams again. Rainey boasted her third consecutive All-State award, as the junior outfielder has been on the first-team during all three seasons at Roanoke. 

The complete teams are listed below. For more information about VaSID, log onto the new home of the Virginia Sports Information Directors at

VaSID College Division All-State Softball Teams

VaSID College Division Player of the Year – Tori Higginbotham, VWC
VaSID College Division Rookie of the Year – Kelly Higbie, Roanoke
VaSID College Division Coach of the Year – Mike Mitchell, Roanoke

1st Team
C – Chelsea Mitchell, CNU
1B – Sabrina Hill, CNU
2B – Jen Falin, CNU
3B – Brianna Bertovich, VWC
SS – Ashley Gardner, Randolph
OF – Tori Higginbotham, VWC
OF – Leona Rainey, Roanoke
OF – Karly Thompson, Ferrum
DP – Gina Pagano, Randolph
UTI – Hannah Shumaker, Ferrum
P – Kelly Higbie, Roanoke
P – Kristina Karagiorgis, VWC

2nd Team
C – Felice Lowery, Roanoke
1B – Morgon Lamon, Mary Washington
2B – Kelly Keys, VWC
3B – Patti Vinson, Randolph
SS – Stephanie Clark, Roanoke
OF – Kelly Foate, CNU
OF – Brittany Guepe, Shenandoah
OF – Lauren Stevenson, Randolph
DP – Sarah Heretick, Bridgewater
UTI – Lisa Lee, EMU
P – Kaitlyn Culler, Ferrum
P – Whitney Haller, CNU