skip navigation

TD Club of Richmond Names Myers State Linebacker of the Year

re'shaun myers bursts through the line, with the touchdown club of richmond logo

RICHMOND, Va. - The Touchdown Club of Richmond has announced its college football award winners for the 2018 season and will honor this group at the annual Dudley & Lanier Awards Banquet on Wednesday, December 12, in Richmond.

At the NCAA Division II, III/NAIA/USCAA level, once known as 'small colleges', seven winners have been selected. And, for the first time since the club started selecting seven players, seven different collegiate programs are represented.

Highlighting the small college defensive selections is Sterling Hammond of Virginia Union, who repeats as the club's Defensive Back of the Year. The top defensive performer in the ODAC, Bridgewater's Re'Shaun Myers, garners Linebacker of the Year honors, while Ben James (Christopher Newport) is named Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Myers is Bridgewater's first State Player of the Year since Darrick Gore (defensive back) and Jordan Hartman (specialist) earned honors from the Richmond TD Club in 2014.

The first team All-South Region selection, who became Bridgewater's first ODAC Player of the Year in football since Joel Francis in 2012, ranked third in the conference in tackles (84) and fifth in tackles for loss (9.5). He added 3.0 sacks, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

He was named to the Team of the Week after recording 2.0 sacks, 3.0 TFLs and returning a fumble for a touchdown vs. Ferrum. He also had 13 tackles and 2.0 tackles for loss vs. Washington & Lee.

Myers recorded double-digit tackles vs. Stevenson, and his strip-sack of Shenandoah quarterback Hayden Bauserman helped spur a 20-point comeback in that victory.

Myers transferred to Bridgewater last fall from Coastal Carolina. In his second season with the Eagles and first with significant preparation, he was in the middle of a unit that led the ODAC in both total defense (341.0 ypg) and rushing defense (125.2 ypg). BC won its final four games to finish 6-4 and tied for second place in the conference. At the conclusion of the season, Myers was named a captain-elect by the team.

The Touchdown Club of Richmond is a sports-social organization, based in Richmond, that promotes the best interests of the American game of football and sports in general, under the guidance of elected officers, with the predominate purpose being to recognize worthy athletes for their accomplishments and to encourage them to continue their education and athletic careers.

The club's membership compiles a ballot from all the football playing colleges and universities in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The ballot is then distributed to the club's membership for voting to determine the 14 award winners, seven at each level, NCAA Division I and NCAA Division II, III/NAIA/USCAA.


Division I
Offensive Back – Bryce Perkins, Virginia
Offensive End – Olamide Zaccheaus, Virginia
Offensive Lineman – John Yarbrough, Richmond
Defensive Lineman – Ricky Walker, Virginia Tech
Linebacker – Chris Peace, Virginia
Defensive Back – Bryce Hall, Virginia
Specialist – D'Angelo Amos, James Madison

Offensive Back – Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah
Offensive End – Major Morgan, Hampden-Sydney
Offensive Lineman – Greg Castle, Randolph-Macon
Defensive Lineman – Ben James, Christopher Newport
Linebacker – Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater
Defensive Back – Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union
Specialist – Cole Westberry, Averett