skip navigation

Four Field Hockey Players Named to All-ODAC Team

action shot of laura gretz and headshots of georgia howard, tessa tierson and elizabeth washington

FOREST, Va. - Four Bridgewater College field hockey players were named to the All-ODAC team on Tuesday, including a first team nod for defender Laura Gretz.

Gretz, a third team selection as a sophomore, jumped up to the first team as a junior. Along with starting all 18 games at centerback, she also scored four goals (including two game-winners).

Sophomore defender Georgia Howard and junior attacker Tessa Tierson were named to the second team, while senior midfielder Elizabeth Washington was a third team selection.

Howard, a third team choice last year, played in 17 games with 16 starts. She also saw time in midfield, totaling five points on one goal and three assists.

Tierson earns her first career All-Conference selection after ranking eighth in the ODAC in both goals (eight) and points (25). She contributed two game-winners and had a six-game scoring streak at one point.

Washington's third team selection in her third consecutive All-ODAC honor. The senior had six points on one goal and four helpers, finishing her career tied for ninth at Bridgewater in assists (14).

Washington & Lee took home two of the four special individual awards and saw five Generals slotted to all-conference teams to headline to the 2017 All-ODAC field hockey awards. W&L forward Haley Tucker earned ODAC Player of the Year honors, while mentor Gina Wills received ODAC Coach of the Year laurels. Lynchburg forward Jackie Lerro picked up ODAC Rookie of the Year recognition, while Shenandoah midfielder Elizabeth Pardo was tabbed the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete.


ODAC Player of the Year: Haley Tucker, Jr., F, Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Gina Wills, Washington and Lee
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Jackie Lerro, Fr., F, Lynchburg
ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Elizabeth Pardo, Sr., M, Shenandoah

Laura Gretz, Jr., D, Bridgewater
Emily Augsburger, Sr., M, Eastern Mennonite
Hannah Krause, Sr., D, Lynchburg
Jackie Lerro, Fr., F, Lynchburg
Nikki Simpao, Jr., M, Lynchburg
Emma Clark, So., GK, Roanoke
Kaylin Stenson, Jr., D, Roanoke
Taylor Hayes, So., M, Shenandoah
Morgan Payne, Jr., D, Shenandoah
Maggie Sands, Sr., M, Washington and Lee
Haley Tucker, Jr., F, Washington and Lee

Georgia Howard, So., M, Bridgewater
Tessa Tierson, Jr., M, Bridgewater
Kayla Copeman, Jr., F, Lynchburg
Georgia Drescher, Fr., D/M, Randolph-Macon
Stacey Staley, Jr., D, Roanoke
Emilee Wooten, Fr., F, Roanoke
Kayla Alderman, Jr., F, Shenandoah
Elizabeth Roberto, So., D, Virginia Wesleyan
Skye Swain, Jr., GK, Virginia Wesleyan
Lilly MacDonald, Sr., D, Washington and Lee
Lauren Paolano, So., F, Washington and Lee

Elizabeth Washington, Sr., M, Bridgewater
Alexis Brown, Fr., M, Lynchburg
Lacey Elliott, Sr., F, Lynchburg
Karissa LeMaire, Sr., M, Lynchburg
Victoria Cappadora, Sr., F, Randolph-Macon
Maria Teresa Ambrogi-Torres, Fr., F/M, Randolph-Macon
Lauren Heffron, Fr., M, Roanoke
Rebecca Schmidt, Jr., D, Roanoke
Elizabeth Pardo, Sr., M, Shenandoah
Cori Jackson, So., M, Virginia Wesleyan
Ariyel Yavalar, Jr., GK, Washington and Lee