skip navigation

Gretz Named to VaSID All-State Team

laura gretz looks to take a shot

FERRUM, Va. – Bridgewater College junior defender Laura Gretz has been named a second team All-State selection by the Virginia Sports Information Directors.

Gretz, a third team All-ODAC selection as a sophomore, jumped up to the first team this year. Along with starting all 18 games at centerback, she also scored four goals (including two game-winners).

A team captain, Gretz tallied twice in a win over Frostburg State, and scored an important game winner in a 3-2 conference victory over Randolph-Macon.

Courtnie Greene and Carrie Moura from Christopher Newport were named Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, on the 2017 VaSID College Division Field Hockey All-State Team. Jackie Lerro of Lynchburg collected Rookie of the Year honors.

Joining Greene on the All-State first team were CNU teammates Rachael Allshouse, Alexa Weaver and Stephanie McKinney. Lynchburg's Nikki Simpao joined Lerro on the first team, while Mary Washington had a pair of first team selections in Allegra Massey-Elim and Erin Kaila. Rounding out the first team were Haley Tucker of Washington & Lee, Emily Augsburger of Eastern Mennonite and Kaylin Stenson of Roanoke.

2017 VaSID College Division Field Hockey All-State Team

Player of the Year: Courtnie Greene, Christopher Newport         
Rookie of the Year: Jackie Lerro, Lynchburg
Coach of the Year: Carrie Moura, Christopher Newport

First Team
F – Rachael Allshouse, Christopher Newport
F – Jackie Lerro, Lynchburg
F – Haley Tucker, Washington and Lee
M – Emily Augsburger, Eastern Mennonite
M – Courtnie Greene, Christopher Newport
M – Allegra Massey-Elim, Mary Washington
M – Nikki Simpao, Lynchburg
D – Erin Kaila, Mary Washington
D – Kaylin Stenson, Roanoke
D – Alexa Weaver, Christopher Newport
GK – Stephanie McKinney, Christopher Newport

Second Team
F – Courtney Fiest, Christopher Newport
F – Lauren Paolano, Washington and Lee
F – Emilee Wooten, Roanoke College
MF – Lauren Hopkins, Mary Washington
MF – Sierra Magdaleno, Ferrum
MF – Maggie Sands, Washington and Lee
D – Laura Gretz, Bridgewater
D – Hannah Krause, Lynchburg
D – Brittan Muir, Christopher Newport
D – Morgan Payne, Shenandoah
GK – Emma Clark, Roanoke