skip navigation

Women's Golf Earns Three Conference Awards, Three All-ODAC Selections

action shot of christina herbert with the ODAC logo and headshots of amanda kelley, casey gaffney and john rogers

FOREST, Va. - The Bridgewater College women's golf team earned three major awards and three All-Conference selections, with the release of the 2018 All-ODAC squad.

Senior Christina Herbert was named the ODAC Player of the Year for the third straight time and added a second consecutive ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete honor. John Rogers was named the ODAC Coach of the Year for a fourth straight season, this time splitting the honor with Washington & Lee's Pete Gyscek.

Herbert ranks third in the nation in scoring average (73.9) and won her third ODAC individual title yesterday by eight strokes. It was her fourth tournament win of the season, along with two other second place finishes. She was named the ODAC Player of the Week six times this year.

Junior Amanda Kelley was a second team selection, her first career All-Conference honor. Kelley was the ODAC Player of the Week earlier this month after winning the Marlins Invitational. She entered the ODAC championship tied for sixth in the conference in scoring (83.3) and placed eighth at the conference tournament.

Senior Casey Gaffney was a third team All-ODAC selection for the second straight year. She had a stroke average of 87.3 heading into the conference tournament and recorded two top-six finishes this spring.

Rogers, who was the men's head coach as well for the first time this season, has now been named the ODAC Women's Coach of the Year four straight times, sharing the award of two of those occasions. Bridgewater has won at least three tournaments in each of those four years.


ODAC Player of the Year: Christina Herbert, Sr., Bridgewater College
ODAC Co-Coach of the Year: John Rogers, Bridgewater College
ODAC Co-Coach of the Year: Pete Gyscek, Washington and Lee University
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Hannah Jones, Fr., Washington and Lee University
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Herbert, Sr., Bridgewater College

Herbert; Sr.; Bridgewater College
Liza Freed; Sr.; Washington and Lee University
Mary-Frances Hall; Sr.; Washington and Lee University
Hannah Jones; Fr.; Washington and Lee University

Amanda Kelley; Jr.; Bridgewater College
Griffin Foultz; So.; Washington and Lee University
Beth Ann Townsend; Fr.; Washington and Lee University

Casey Gaffney; Sr.; Bridgewater College
Liza Lewis; Jr.; Randolph-Macon College
Dana Droz; Sr.; Washington and Lee University