skip navigation

Defending Champ Herbert Earns 2018 NCAA Selection

christina herbert takes an iron shot at randolph-macon

INDIANAPOLIS – Defending NCAA medalist Christina Herbert has qualified for a chance to defend her title at the 2018 championships.

The NCAA Division III Women's Golf Committee announced 25 teams and six individuals that will participate in the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships.

Nineteen conferences have been granted automatic qualification and the remaining six teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent institutions. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships.

Herbert, who ranks third in the nation in scoring average (74.05) and seventh in GolfStat's computer player rankings, earned the third of six at-large bids behind Wittenberg's Jane Hopkinson-Wood and Redlands' Caroline Ordian.

Last year, Herbert came from three strokes down on the final nine to win the national championship, with Hopkinson-Wood and Ordian both also placing in the top-10. Herbert finished with the best stroke average in Division III and was named the National Player of the Year by both WGCA and Honda.

"It's great that Christina will get this experience one more time," said head coach John Rogers. "Honestly, it's a shame the NCAA does not have a provision letting defending champions automatically get a bid. I think it has caused Christina a good bit of stress this year, having to play in a way that would keep one of the six individual spots open to her. Her freshman year she had one bad round in the Stevenson tournament and it likely kept her out of the championship that spring. It's crazy to think that one round could keep the defending champ, and one of the top players in the nation, out of the tournament. But now Christina can take a deep breath and prepare to go to Florida and enjoy the week ahead."

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. Following 54 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 15 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams to compete the final day. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team's total score.

The championships will be conducted May 8-11 on the El Campeon course at Mission Inn Resort and Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida. Oglethorpe University and Central Florida Sports Commission will serve as hosts.