skip navigation

Herbert Completes Four-Year All-American Run

christina herbert walks off the green

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. - Bridgewater golfer Christina Herbert has been named WGCA first team All-America for the third straight year, becoming the first BC athlete in any sport to be a four-year All-American.

The Women's Golf Coaches Association has announced the 2017-18 student-athlete and coaches awards for Division III Women's Collegiate Golf. All-American teams, All-Region teams, Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year and the recipient of the Kim Moore Spirit Award were recognized at the WGCA Division III Awards Banquet held in Howey-In-The-Hills, Fla.

Herbert was an honorable mention All-American selection as a freshman before being named to the first team in 2016, 2017 and 2018. The 2017 WGCA National Player of the Year was also named to the All-East Region team for the fourth consecutive season.

The senior ranked third in the nation in scoring average (74.05) and seventh in GolfStat's computer player rankings heading into the NCAA championships, her third selection to the national tournament.

Herbert, the ODAC Player of the Year, won her third ODAC individual title this season by eight strokes. It was her fourth tournament win of the season, along with two other second place finishes. She was named the ODAC Player of the Week six times this year.

The Women's Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent. 

WGCA Division III All-American Teams

First Team
Shiyang Fan, Whitman College
Christina Herbert, Bridgewater College
Jane Hopkinson-Wood, Wittenberg University
Brooke Klostermann, Wartburg College
Margaret Loncki, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Phoebe Nguyen, Whitman College
Caroline Ordian, University of Redlands

Second Team
Johnna Beehner, Methodist University
Cordelia Chan, Williams College
Kristin Elich, George Fox University
Samantha Haubenstock, Washington University in St. Louis
Jorie Hodapp, Berry College
Larisa Luloff, DePauw University
Meghan Symonds, Sewanee: The University of the South
Mira Yoo, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Honorable Mention
Jennifer Bluetling, New York University
Emma Kang, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Iris Kawada, George Fox University
Navika Kuchakulla, New York University
Christine Piwnica, Bethel University
Alyssa Poentis, New York University
Ziyi Wang, Carleton College

All-Region 1/East Region
Johnna Beehner, Methodist University
Jennifer Bluetling, New York University
Cordelia Chan, Williams College
Mary-Frances Hall, Washington and Lee University
Elizabeth Gudas, Williams College
Herbert, Bridgewater College
Navika Kuchakulla, New York University
Alyssa Poentis, New York University
Charlotte Simpson, Carnegie Mellon University
Patty Treevichaphan, New York University