skip navigation

Herbert Lone D-III Player on VaSID All-State Team

christina herbert drives off the tee with the VASID logo behind her

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Bridgewater College senior Christina Herbert was named to her fourth straight VaSID All-State team, as the only Division III player recognized.

After becoming the first Division III player to win Virginia State Player of the Year honors (in 2017) and making the last three All-State teams, Herbert concludes her illustrious career with a second team honor.

Herbert was an honorable mention All-American selection as a freshman before being named to the first team in 2016, 2017 and 2018. The 2017 WGCA National Player of the Year was also named to the All-East Region team for the fourth consecutive season.

The senior ranked third in the nation in scoring average (74.05) and seventh in GolfStat's computer player rankings heading into the NCAA championships, her third selection to the national tournament.

Herbert, the ODAC Player of the Year, won her third ODAC individual title this season by eight strokes. It was her fourth tournament win of the season, along with two other second place finishes. She was named the ODAC Player of the Week six times this year.

The VaSID All-State women's golf team combines players from both the University and College divisions. Virginia junior Anna Redding was the Player of the Year while teammate Beth Lillie was named the 2018 VaSID Rookie of the Year. They were both first-team selections. Virginia Tech's Carol Robertson was selected the VaSID Coach of the Year after guiding the Hokies to their first NCAA Regional berth in the program's third year of existence.
Golfer of the Year: Anna Redding, Virginia
Rookie of the Year: Beth Lillie, Virginia
Coach of the Year: Carol Robertson, Virginia Tech

First Team
Elizabeth Bose, Virginia Tech
Laura Gomez-Ruiz, James Madison
Beth Lillie, Virginia
Anna Redding, Virginia
Maggie Simmermacher, Old Dominion
Katerina Vlasinova, Old Dominion

Second Team
Sophie DiPetrillo, Richmond
Morgan Gonzales, Virginia
Christina Herbert, Bridgewater
Amanda Hollandsworth, Virginia Tech
Emily Mahar, Virginia Tech